First Time Food Delivery

I don’t think I ever realized just how tiring nine-to-five work days could be until I experienced it myself for the first time this past week. I had started my internship at the Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum on Wednesday and have been working full days since then. Walking up and down the steps of the four galleries as well as memorizing my canon in preparation for becoming a docent really tired me out. I didn’t feel like making dinner, nor did I feel like eating leftovers. I wanted something new, something I’ve never really gone out of my way to try: I decided to have my food delivered.

Timing could not have been any more perfect. I had received a voucher for a free meal in the mail from Munchery, a San Francisco-based food delivery service, which I used on the Wednesday night menu. The dish I ordered was the balsamic-glazed flat iron steak with roasted bell peppers, mushrooms, and potatoes. It was absolutely delicious! I’m not a good cook, and I’ve never tried preparing anything as complicated as a steak before (tbh it’s usually just sandwiches, soup, or ramen for me), so my Munchery dinner was definitely a nice treat. At $10.25 for a decently generous serving, it seemed like a good meal, and most of the other menu items are even under $10. Thus, even without a coupon, Munchery dishes would be a good investment once in a while.

I loved my first Munchery experience and if I feel the need to utilize their services more often depending on my schedule, I might even invest in a membership. I love that they bring back certain items on their menu every couple of days, so if I miss a particular dish one day (or love it so much that I want it again), I can have it like three days later. It’s also super convenient to be able to view the whole week’s menu at once and schedule deliveries in advance. The pre-cooked dishes from Munchery are definitely convenient, but I think I better try their cooking kits next time. I really need to learn how to make my own food!

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 8.44.13 PM

Balsamic-glazed Flat Iron Steak with Roasted Veggies

Leave a Reply

